Shunga Dynasty Establishment
  • Founded by Pushyamitra Shunga
  • Capital
  1. Patilputra
  2. Vidisha : later period
Major cities
  • Ujjain
  • Mathura
  • Saket
  • Sanchi
  • Kapilavastu
  • Pushyamitra Shunga
  • Founder of the dynasty
  • He was a viceroy under Mauryan empire
  • He conquested vidarbha
  • He also spoiled and attack from Kharavela
  • Agnimitra
  • Son of Pushyamitra shunga
  • The story Malavikagnimitram written by Kalidam revolves around him
  • Vidarbha became independent during his period
  • Vasumitra
  • Son of Agnimitra
  • Succeeded the throne after Agnimitra
  • Devabhuti
  • Last Shunga ruler
  • Assasinated by Vasudeva Kanva
Satvahana dyanasty Architecture, Numismatics and Inscritions Architecture
  • Chaityas
  • large hall with a number of columns
  • g. Karle Chaitya
  • Viharas
  • Monastries
  • featured with a central hall entered by a doorway from a verandah in front
  • Amaravathi stupa was built by Satvahanas
  • Depticts various scenes from life of the Buddha
  • Lead, silver and copper alloys were used to make coins
  • first coins to have Bilingual legends
  • first to issue coins with King’s portraits
  • Prakrit, Telugu and Kannada were used
  • Nanaghat Inscription
  • Mentions about wife of Satkarni I
  • Cave inscriptions of Nasik
  • mentions about Gautamiputra satkarni
  • inscriptions of Pulumayi II
  • Karle cave inscription
  • about Vashishtiputra Pulumayi II
  Satvahana dynasty-Administration
  1. Janapadas
  2. Aharas
  • Sub-division of Janapada
  • Headed by amatya
  1. Gramas
  • Sub-division of Aharas
  • Headed by Gramika
Rural areas
  • Headed by gaulmika
  • head of military regiment
Three grades of feudatories
  • Rajas
  • had the right to strike coins
  • Mahabhojas
  • Senapati
  • Senapatis were appointed as provincial governors
  Satvahana Dynasty Establishment
  • established in 1st Century AD
  • established at Andhra Pradesh
  • Also called as Satkarnis and Andhras
Major Centres
  • Nagarjuna
  • Amaravathi
  • Simuka
  • founder of the dynasty
  • he conquered western Malwa, Vidarbha and Anupa
  • defeated shungas
  • assassinated by Kanha
  • Kanha
  • Succeeded simuka
  • expanded the dynasty towards south
  • Satkarni I
  • Also called as Sri Satkarni south
  • Son of Simuka
  • Mentioned as lord of Dakshinapada
  • successor of Kanha
  • Satkarni II
  • Longest ruler of Satvahana empire
  • he fought battles with Kharvela
  • Gautamiputra Satkarni
  • Defeated Sakas, Yavanas and Pahlavas to regain the power of Satvahanas
  • Satkarni is the first king bearing matronym “Gautamiputra”
  • Issued large number of his silver coins
  • Nasik inscriptions describes his achievements
  • Pulumayi II
  • Son of Gautamiputra Satkarni
  • other name : Vasisthiputra Sri Pulumayi
  • married the daughter of Saka ruler Rudradaman
  • extended his empire till Bellary is Karnataka
  • Rudradaman defeated him twice in battles
  • Pulumayi IV
  • Last Satavahana ruler
  Sakas or Scythians Establishment
  • They destroyed the Indo-Greek rule in north-western India to form their empire
  • Sakas or Scythians were nomadic tribes from central Asia
  • Recorded as Horse riding Iranian pastoralists
Five branches of Sakas
  • Afganistan
  • Punjab
Capital : Taxila
  • Mathura
  • western India
  • Deccan
  • Rudradaman I (AD 130-150)
  • Repaired the Sudarsana lake in Kathiawar
  • he issued the first-ever long inscription of chaste Sanskrit
  • Junagarh rock inscription of Rudradaman
  • Reigned over Gujarat, Sindh, Saurashtra, Malwa and parts of Rajasthan
  • Mause
  • Ruled Gandhara from Sirkap
  • Issued copper and silver coins
  • His coins bear the images of Indian Deities
  • He used Greek and Kharosthi Script
  • Azes
  • Put an end to Greek rul
  • Azes II
  • Last Saka ruler
  • Defeated by Kaushanas